I bought myself a little book from Amazon at the weekend, which has lots of lovely little recipes that you can make into presents. I thought that was a brilliant idea and it shows that you’ve actually put loads of effort and thought into what you’re making for your loved one.

I saw a recipe for pesto – yum! – so I thought it would be a nice and easy place to start.

The book I bought is great, it’s called “Gifts from the Kitchen” by Annie Rigg.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Gifts-Kitchen-Irresistible-Homemade-Presents/dp/1856269388/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1316122478&sr=8-1

Sooo, I made a start on my pesto! To make 2 small jars:

Ingredients:

  • 75g Basil leaves
  • 2-3 fat cloves of garlic, roughly chopped
  • 75g pine nuts
  • 250ml fruity olive oil*
  • 75g finely grated Pecorino cheese**
  • Salt and Pepper to season

* I used regular extra virgin olive oil (no idea what “fruity” means?!)
** I used standard Parmesan

Equipment

  • Blender!
  • Jars to store the finished product
Yes. My blender is old. In fact, I believe it was bought by my great grandma, the year I was born, to help my mum make healthy baby food … haha!
Method:
  1. Put the basil, garlic and pine nuts into the food processor and blend until they are roughly chopped.
  2. Add almost all the olive oil and blend again until finely chopped and well combined
  3. Remove from the blender into a bowl and mix in your cheese (Pecorino or Parmesan)
  4. Add salt and pepper to taste!
Easy right? So easy, I should really have kept it to myself and pretended I was really clever ….
The end result ….
It’s so much nicer than the bought stuff and really flexible.
I had some Pesto with my dinner tonight actually, how could I not! I had an oven baked, crispy jacket potato, cut in half and mashed slightly with lots of lovely butter … yum yum … then I dolloped on some pesto and spread it over the top of the potato. I then sprinkled over some more Parmesan and grilled it until it was starting to brown!
Quick. Easy. Simple and fairly healthy (without the butter … and lots of cheese … ). Let me know if you’ve tried the recipe and what you think!
